Dramatic Vocation
September 24, 2018
Soaring Ambition
September 24, 2018
Show all

Up and Away

What is the eligibility criteria and procedure for becoming a fighter pilot

aptitude test and why is it a necessary prerequisite for all candidates?

There are two entry levels for the Flying Branch of the Indian Air Force: Straight after completion of your 10+2 with physics, chemistry and mathematics (PCM), with a minimum of 65 percent marks. You can apply to the National Defence Academy, Khadakvasla, where army and navy recruits receive a three year training. An additional 18-month training will be impaired at the Air Force Academy, Hyderabad; Alternatively, on graduating in mathematics, physics and/or chemistry, you can seek recruitment through the Combined Defence Services examination. Once you clear this examination you will be sent to  service of your choice.

Do remember that irrespective of the entry-level, you need to be at least 5 feet 8 inches in height and have to appear for the pilot aptitude battery test. This test gauges your reflexes-so vital to a life and death situation. Unfortunately, those who fail the pilot aptitude battery test will not be allowed to reappear. There is no second attempt. However, one could still be considered for ground duties.


Picture Credit: Google

Comments are closed.